The best question to ask in a job interview: DJ Patil

From DJ Patil:

I asked a simple question on the LinkedIn Group for our employees: What’s your favorite interview question? Two questions that stood out were “What’s one question you expected me to ask?” and “What’s one question you wanted me to ask?” While deceptively similar in appearance, they elicit very different answers. So much so that they’ve become a standard part of my interview process. These two questions often give me the most insight into a candidate…

Why does it work so well? For me, it’s because it’s open-ended. It sets us up for a conversation rather than just the usual interrogative interview. The conversation is what really helps me understand how the person thinks, and how we might work together. Most importantly, it can shed light on what it is going to take to help make this person successful.

Leave a Reply

