How NOT to market your app

From Paul Jozefak‘s blog:

I think I am going to punch the next person who tells me their app or online service is “fun”! I hate describing smartphone apps or software as “fun” because they aren’t. Sports are fun. The movie theater is fun. Driving fast is fun. Sex is fun. Your damn app ain’t sexy nor fun!!!

I’ll agree that there are certain apps or services which are “fun” to use in their own way (games, social stuff) but I’m coming at this more from the marketing perspective. People DO NOT use apps first and foremost because they are fun. They use them because they are beneficial to them. They ADD value. They help kill time. They make you faster, more efficient, effective, connected, communicative and so forth. Don’t use the word “fun”…..seriously, stop!

Notes:
(1) “They make you faster, more efficient, effective, connected, communicative” makes sense. But “They help kill time” is a depressing value proposition for anything. I’d personally delete that from the list.
(2) My gut feeling is that a large number of apps fall into the “help kill time” category, but their creators don’t admit that.

3 thoughts on “How NOT to market your app

  1. Maybe “fun” is the wrong way to describe it. But part of great app/software design is to take tedious tasks and make them more enjoyable. Right now, I’m enjoying following the pre-market futures action using my ThinkorSwim app. And I enjoy following breaking market news using my Seeking Alpha porfolio app, because it’s so easy and well-executed. Fun=enjoyable, which I think is a key element of app design.

Leave a Reply

