A radical approach to marketing

Excerpted from Jason Fried:

…every marketer we met with was focused on one thing: customer acquisition… But the more I spoke with all of these talented and passionate marketers, the more I realized that I wasn’t interested in what they had to offer. In fact, I found myself thinking less about new customers than about our existing ones.

The way I see it, I can spend a lot of time and money trying to persuade a bunch of newcomers to try Basecamp. Or I can spend a lot less effort helping current customers get more out of something they’ve already purchased and enjoy using. As I said at the outset, sales take care of themselves when you put out a great product and treat your customers with the ultimate respect.

Or, to put it another way: If you take care of your existing customers, they will take care of your new customers.

Notes:
(1) This dovetails with Sam Altman’s view that “All companies that grow really big do so in only one way: people recommend the product or service to other people.”
(2) See: The only way to build a massive business.

6 thoughts on “A radical approach to marketing

  1. I like a lot of 37Signals’ philosophy. But they’re not a big company (see here: http://www.hoovers.com/company-information/cs/revenue-financial.37signals_LLC.56499998fe22b747.html – according to Hoover’s they’re sub-$1M revenue). And I’ve been using Campfire for many years. Is it stable? Yes. Could it be much better? IMHO, yes! It hasn’t changed more than a lick in the 8 years I’ve been using it. So I sometimes find myself wondering how seriously I should take their business advice. See also here: http://www.jnd.org/dn.mss/why_is_37signals_so_1.html

  2. Pingback: Steve Jobs’ approach to marketing | A Founder's Notebook

  3. Pingback: Sustainable growth vs. growth hacking | A Founder's Notebook

  4. Pingback: Improving retention helps growth in 4 ways | A Founder's Notebook

Leave a Reply

