The 5 questions every customer asks themselves before buying from you

From Geoffrey James:

Before making the decision to buy, [says Duane Sparks, author of Selling Your Price], customers go through the following five distinct “decision-making” thought processes:

1. Do I want to do business with this person?  Who is this person, really? Do I trust him? Do I like her?

2. Do I want to do business with this firm? Are they reputable? Are they credible? Do I have a history with them?

3. Do I want and need these products and services? Is there a problem that they solve? Is there a goal that they make possible?

4. Does the value meet my expectations? Will I get a quick return on my investment? Is the price in line with other offerings? Is this a unique solution?

5. Is this the right time to make a decision? Is there a reason to buy now? Is the problem about to explode? Is an opportunity slipping past?

Interesting to note the similarities and differences between this list and Mark Suster’s sales methodology.

2 thoughts on “The 5 questions every customer asks themselves before buying from you

  1. Pingback: Overcoming the biggest barrier with a first-time buyer | A Founder's Notebook

  2. Pingback: In selling, the relationship is the deal | A Founder's Notebook

Leave a Reply

