Better than a resume

From Ryan Hoover:

Blogging is the new resume. Blogging is an effective way to illustrate expertise, personality, and most importantly, thought process. The way product managers, UX designers, and other “non-technical” roles think, communicates their ability and culture fit. Resumes lack this entirely…

When startups ask about my background and expertise, I respond with a brief bio and link them a few select articles I’ve written, relevant to their situation. If you read my writing, you will know how I think. If you agree with my analysis and recommendations, you will trust my product decisions. If you disagree, then we shouldn’t work together anyway. Resumes fail to communicate any of this.

I hope to never touch my resume again.

Notes:
(1) Note the similarity to Alan Rusbridge’s advice to wannabe journalists.
(2) We’ve found that money managers use Seeking Alpha as a way to find analysts to hire — because reading an article about a stock often tells you more about the author’s capabilities than reading their resume. And investors use Seeking Alpha to find money managers, for exactly the same reason.

One thought on “Better than a resume

  1. Pingback: How to run a job interview | A Founder's Notebook

Leave a Reply

