Staying focused: a remarkable example from Steve Jobs

Steve Jobs Rejected The First Medical App In 1977 describes how George Diamond developed a medical app for the Apple II in 1977. Thinking that “a computer like this should be on the desk of every doctor in the world”, he approached Steve Jobs to ask for help:

He said he was very impressed with what I had done, and that he agreed about the potential for the future, but ‘frankly I’m not interested in working with you on this.’ I asked why. He said: ‘You have to understand. This is something that nobody in the world yet understands. I can’t be distracted. I’m trying to make the best hammer I can make, the best hammer in the world. You can use my hammer to tear something down, or you can use it to build something up. I really don’t care what you do with my hammer. I just want to make the best possible hammer. And what you are doing is a wonderful bit of construction, but to me it’s a distraction.’

Leave a Reply

