Smile

From Smiling Is Contagious. Customers (and Your Business) Thrive on It by WhichWitch CEO Jeff Sinelli:

Smiles have an effect on those who receive them. [They] can literally make other people feel like they are winning. As smiles are contagious, this sentiment of reward is passed along to the next unsuspecting soul.

In my various roles in the service industry, I tested this science of smiling. Then when I found myself working a 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. corporate sales job inside the four walls of my office, I was shocked to discover that a smile still could be important, even when customers couldn’t see my face.

Needing an outlet of entertainment, I started to play around with the inflections and intonations of my voice, speaking with a big smile painted across my face. Colleagues who passed my office certainly questioned my sanity, but orders came through and appointments were being made. By starting with a smile when I called people on the phone, I was able to land face-to-face meetings with clients and close deals.

Notes:
(1) This is why one of Jane Porter’s 7 Secrets to Cold Calling Success is to look at yourself in a mirror when making a sales call.
(2) “Smiles have an effect on those who receive them.” So why limit this to sales?

One thought on “Smile

  1. Pingback: Ask positive questions | A Founder's Notebook

Leave a Reply

