How to manage someone who is missing their goals

Eli Hoffmann, describing what a manager should say to someone who is missing their targets:

Hey. You aren’t hitting your targets. I’m not sure what’s going wrong, but I need you to hit them. Success equals growth, and growth means setting aggressive targets and hitting them.

What I need from you is a game plan. What’s going to change that will get us back on track? You probably need some time to think about this. When should we meet again to review your game plan?

Also, it’s important for you to know that I want you to succeed. If there’s anything I can do to make you more successful, let’s discuss that and I’ll do whatever I can.

Notes:
(1) The context: we were discussing what causes managers to slip into micromanagement. I suggested that it’s natural to micromanage someone when they are chronically missing their goals. You step in to help, to fix the situation.
(2) The problem is that, in my experience, micromanagement rarely works. Perhaps that’s due to The Set-Up-To-Fail Syndrome.
(3) Eli’s approach is powerful: it avoids micromanaging and disempowering your report, but forces her / him to rethink and come back with a plan.
(4) Cf. When micromanagement works.

Leave a Reply

