How to be a great team member (and person)

Daniel Jackson is a professor of computer science at MIT, a talented photographer, and author of Portraits of Resilience. (Full disclosure: He’s also my brother.) Edited excerpt from one of his Resilience Postcards:

The year is coming to a close, and I’m looking back and pondering its lessons. Our good friend Bernie died a few weeks ago, so I’m thinking particularly of what I learned from him, and how the way he lived his life can be an inspiration to us all.

Be optimistic. There’s so much to worry about, from climate catastrophe to the decline of democracy. Bernie was always smiling and enjoying himself, despite decades of ill health. His grandson aptly noted in his eulogy that had Bernie been able to speak at his own funeral, he would have said “Isn’t this the best funeral ever?” Realism need not imply pessimism, and if we can look for the good around us, we will be able to create more of it.

Be loyal to your friends. Bernie was a staunch advocate, especially for his friends. When my book on resilience came out, Bernie became my unofficial publicist, giving copies to anyone he thought might benefit from it. Only my official publicists (aka my parents) gave away more copies. When, just a few weeks before he passed away, he came across a book I’d made of a historic garden in our town, he bought a copy to give to the Mayor and asked me to sign it. It’s the only copy of that book that I ever sold.

Know your neighbors. Sitting with Bernie on his expansive porch meant being introduced to every delivery person, neighbor or landscaper who happened to walk by. We’re isolated enough without keeping our distance from the people we pass every day.

Have the world in mind. Despite his love of his family, his friends and his neighborhood, Bernie never forgot about those who were less fortunate. When I interviewed him as part of my porch portrait series at the start of the pandemic, and asked him what he was thinking about, he said: “I pray that America fulfills her promise to all.”

Notes:
(1) What are the equivalent values for being a great employee? Perhaps: Be optimistic about your company. Be loyal to your co-workers. Know the people you work with. Make sure your company has the world in mind, and contribute to that.
(2) Re. “Be optimistic”, see Why you have to actively fight cynicism, How to avoid being influenced by others’ negativity, and You can train yourself to think positively.
(3) Re. “Have the world in mind”, see Private companies are the biggest driver of progress, so what’s your vision?

Leave a comment