Setting clear goals = empowerment

From A Small World CEO Sabine Heller‘s Corner Office interview:

You have to manage people based on results and set clear goals. It sounds like a simple thing, but people don’t do that often. When I was 22 and working at UGO, it didn’t matter that I had no experience and it didn’t matter what my process was as long as I hit my goal. It taught me how empowering it is to be treated like that. I am a great manager for people who are strong thinkers and motivated. I empower people. I promote people. I give them a lot of leeway. At the end of the day, I look at results, and that’s it. I feel very strongly that organizations infantilize employees. You should treat them like adults.

Notes:
(1) When you give people clear goals and metrics, it releases them from being micro-managed at the task level.
(2) In many roles, being given responsibility for a measurable goal also allows employees to manage their time as they want to. That can be particularly important for companies that want to create a culture which is attractive to people who care about family time.

3 thoughts on “Setting clear goals = empowerment

  1. Pingback: The difference between a great company and a lousy company | A Founder's Notebook

  2. Pingback: Laszlo Bock’s eight steps to being a good manager | A Founder's Notebook

  3. Pingback: What to look for in a great employee | A Founder's Notebook

Leave a comment